Thursday, July 21, 2022

Junior Pro registration is Tuesday, July 26

 Crittenden County's Junior Pro Football registration will be on Tuesday, July 26 at Rocket Stadium.

Players in 5th-6th grades will register between 5:30-6:30pm, and players in 3rd-4th grades will register between 6:30-7:30pm.

Cost is $70 and players will need to provide a copy of their birth certificate. Also, every player will need a sports physical to participate.

Friday, July 15, 2022

Change in Rocket football schedule

There has been a change in the 2022 Rocket football schedule that was released earlier this summer. A team from Maryland that was scheduled to play here Sept. 16 has canceled due to rising cost of fuel and other expenses associated with travel. 

Rocket football coach Gaige Courtney said Louisville Desales has been picked up to replace the canceled game, but it will be on a different date.

Crittenden was scheduled for a bye week on Oct. 28. The Desales game will be played on that date and the team’s bye week is now Sept. 16. The Desales game will be on of just four home games this season.

This will be a one-year contract with Desales. 

Monday, June 13, 2022

Rockets face interesting 2022 schedule

 Rocket football skipper Gaige Courtney has put together an interesting schedule for his second season as the CCHS head coach. 

While the slate includes some traditional neighboring opponents such as Webster County, Union County and Caldwell County and district games against Fulton County and Russellville, the Rockets will have some long-distance foes in 2022. 

A team from inner city Baltimore will be arriving in Marion in September. Our Lady of Mt. Carmel is a private Catholic school that put up some incredible offensive numbers last year en route to a 6-3 record. 
CCHS will face another out-of-state opponent Oct. 7 when it goes to Liberty Creek, Tenn., a new high school in Gallatin. This will be the Wolves first season as a team as the 700-student school is opening in August in the Sumner County School District. 

The schedule also includes Bethlehem, a perennial top 10 Class A team and Murray, a typical top 10 Class 2A team, plus Class 4A Madisonville. 

The team is conducting its Lift-a- Thon fundraising event this month. This year they’ve designed a way for local businesses to get involved in the competitive spirit. Players will be contacting local businesses soon with more information. 

2022 Crittenden County Football 
Aug. 5 at Hopkins Central Aug. 12 
Calloway County 
Aug. 19 at Murray 
Aug. 26 at Webster County 
Sept. 2 Madisonville 
Sept. 9 at Caldwell County 
Sept. 16 Our Lady of Mt. Carmel, Penn. 
Sept. 23 Union County 
Sept. 30 at Bethlehem 
Oct. 7 at Liberty Creek, Tenn. 
Oct. 14 Fulton County 
Oct. 10 Russellville 
Oct. 28 Bye 
Nov. 4 Playoffs

Rocket Youth Football Camp June 20-22

Rocket Youth Football Camp will be June 20-22 on the high school campus. 

The camp is for youngsters age 5-15. Cost is $30 and there is a discount for families with multiple children. 

Camp is from 9-11:30 a.m., daily with lunch served afterwards. Registration forms will be accepted on the first day of camp starting at 8:30 a.m. 

Each camper will receive instruction in all facets of football from the Crittenden County High School coaching staff and current CCHS players. 

Campers will also receive a T-shirt. There will be flag football games at the end of workouts each day. 

Crittenden County Middle School 2022 Football

Crittenden County Middle School has released information about its upcoming fall football season. The first day of practice will be Monday, July 11. Workouts be from 6-8 p.m. The locker room will be open at 5:30 p.m. Players must have a physical exam and proof to present to coaches before they can begin to practice. Players should bring cleats and gym shoes to practice each day. Practice will be indoors if raining.

2022 Middle School Schedule
Aug. 18 Mayfield
Sept. 8 at Webster County
Sept. 13 South Hopkins
Sept.17 Trojan Bowl vs N. Marshall
Sept. 20 James Madison
Sept. 23 at Browning Springs
Sept. 29 Caldwell County
Aug. 30 Union County

Friday, February 18, 2022

College Athletics Signing Day

Four Crittenden County High School seniors on Friday, Feb. 18, 2022 formally signed their letters of intent to play sports at the next level during a ceremony at Rocket Arena. Signing wereMaddox Carlson to play baseball at Dyersburg State (Tenn.) Community College, Luke Crider to play football at Thomas More University in northern Kentucky, Dylan Yates to play football at Kentucky Wesleyan in Owensboro and Zech McGahan to play sprint football at Midway University near Lexington.