Wednesday, December 13, 2023

Post-season honors for Rocket football stars

Annual Rocket Individual Awards 
CCHS held its annual football awards ceremony Sunday. Among those honored were (front from left) Jacob Carder, Most Improved Offensive Player; Travis Blazina, Greg “Dozer” Belt Award, Casey Cates, Solid Rocket Award; Micah Newcom, Rocket Captain, Crittenden Press/Paul Mick Leadership Award, Offensive MVP and Rocket Most Valuable Player; Bennett McDaniel, Rocket Captain, Tackles Leader, Hitman Award and Defensive MVP; Gattin Travis, Marion Feed Mill Grit Iron Award; Jason Millikan, Selfless Rocket Award; (back) Brayden Poindexter, Most Improved Defensive Player and JV Defensive MVP; Lane West, Roach Award; Grayson James, Most Valuable Lineman; Caden Howard, RBI Leader; Tyler Belt, Special Teams MVP; Levi Piper, Solid Rocket Award; Quinn Summers, JV Captain and JV Offensive MVP; Brayden Mahnke, Most Improved Special Teams Player; and Gabe Keller, 110 Percent Award and Forced Turnovers Leader.

Nine Crittenden County football players were selected to the All West Kentucky Conference team, which was announced last week.
Additionally, Bennet McDaniel, a senior linebacker, and Gabe Keller, a senior receiver and defensive back, were picked for The Paducah Sun’s All Purchase Football Team.
Former Rocket coach Sean Thompson, now at Paducah Tilghman, was named Purchase Area Coach of the Year. His team was undefeated until the state semifinal.