Thursday, December 17, 2020

Thompson, 11 players honored by conference

Crittenden County had 11 players earn All West Kentucky Conference honors and three players made All WKC First Team, the most ever from a Rockets’s team.

Seniors Tyler Boone and Braxton Winders and junior Dylan Yates were first-team selections. Boone, the school’s all-time tackle leader, was chosen as a linebacker. Winders, who averaged more than 30 yards a kick this season, was chosen as a punter. Yates, who led all of Class A football this season in sacks, was picked as a defensive lineman. 

Other all-conference selections were seniors Caden McCalister, Lathen Easley, Xander Tabor, Preston Turley, Ian Ellington and Noah McGowan, junior Logan Bailey and sophomore Preston Morgeson.

Go here to see 2020 statistics of all the above players.

Third-year Rocket skipper Sean Thompson was chosen Coach of the Year by conferences coaches. Thompson's Rockets were 7-3 as he guided them to a fourth straight state quarterfinal berth.